Heaven is For Real

Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy’s Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back by Todd Burpo

In 2003, at the age of 3 years old Colton Burpo has emergency appendicitis and following the surgery he begins to tell his father Todd, pastor of a Christian church in Nebraska about his trip to Heaven to meet Jesus.

I have attended Catholic school my entire life, however I wouldn’t consider myself a very religious person. But I was still interested in this book because I had heard so much about it, both positive and negative. I found the book to be very boring and anticlimactic. I wanted to get a full detailed account of Colton’s supposed experience in heaven and felt like I never got it. Little details were revealed throughout the book but never enough to make it feel like the story was real or the book was worth it.

My biggest frustration is the fact that Colton’s parents waited way too long to take him to the hospital and by the time he arrived it was almost too late. Instead of taking their son to the world-class Children’s Hospital Colorado in Denver they choose drive the 4 hours home in order to take him to a tiny little hospital that ends up misdiagnosing him. Despite thinking their son might have appendicitis, they choose to ignore the logical side of their brain and pretend he would just be ok, thus almost killing him.

The parents continued to be extremely frustrating throughout the entire book. You cannot trust anything a 3-year-old tells you and it felt like the father asked the right questions to get Colton to say want he wanted him to.  Also, the child was under anaesthesia during his surgery and therefore probably dreamed the whole thing.

Overall, the whole book was a little too Jesus Camp like for my personal taste and religious views aside, I found the whole book to be very slow. 1 out of 5 stars.

1 Purple Star

Published 2010, 163 pages.

Leave a Reply

