How To Catch A Prince

How To Catch A Prince by Rachel Hauck

*This review contains spoilers

The next book in her Royal Wedding Series, I enjoyed the first one. I love a modern fairytale story, so I was excited to read this one. Corina Del Ray is a wealthy heiress who lost her twin brother in Afghanistan. Prince Stephen was also in Afghanistan at the time and came back a changed and haunted man. Unbeknownst to them, their secret marriage was never annulled and they come face to face after five years.

I read Hauck’s first installment of the Royal Wedding Series, Once Upon A Prince and absolutely loved it. This book carries on the family storyline of the royal family, focusing on the brother Stephen. I really wanted to enjoy this book, but it wasn’t doing it for me. It started out really well and I thought Hauck’s written another great story, but things became too religious and too far-fetched for me. Not that I have anything against religious imagery in fiction, but sometimes it can be a little too much. Hauck creates the division between believers and non-believers by having imaginary people take care of Corina in a house that can only be seen if you believe in God – this just makes the whole fairytale story lose itself into a religious allegory of being a believer or non-believer. It just continued to be like this with brief moments of Hauck’s original storyline coming through. It is well written and the characters are enjoyable, but overall the religious imagery took over the story and it wasn’t so much of a fairytale as it was God’s tale. 3/5

Published; 2015,  386 pages.

 

3 Purples Stars

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through BookLook Blogging I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

