Jesse’s Girl

Jesse’s Girl by Miranda Keannelly

This is a continuation of Keanneally’s Hundred Oaks series. Maya Henry is the sister of Henry (who was featured in Keanneally’s Catching Jordan). Once day a year, everyone at Hundred Oaks High gets to spend a day shadowing someone in their desired field. Maya Henry said she wanted to be a rock star, so somehow she gets to shadow Jesse Scott, Nashville’s teen idol. But spending the day with Jesse isn’t what she imagined it would be. He’s pushy, arrogant and opinionated, and yet he thinks Maya could be a successful musician.

I loved the Hundred Oaks series so far, but this one fell a little short for me. I am a huge fan of Keanneally and “Hollywood” romances, but I felt Maya and Jesse’s romance was a little too rushed and forced. I don’t think this one was as good as her other series. The writing is great and it flows well, but it would have been better if the story had been fleshed out a little more. Like I said before, the pace was too rushed and it seemed a little disjointed at times. However, I did love the banter between Maya and Jesse. 3/5

Expected publish date: July 7, 2015, 304 pages.

3 Purples Stars

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

