On The Fence

On the Fence by Kasie West

“We can’t let boys define how we feel about ourselves. You have to know who you are before you should let any boy worth anything in.”

Goodread’s Description:

For sixteen-year-old Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, being raised by a single dad and three older brothers has its perks. She can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows—including her longtime neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn’t know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world of makeup, lacy skirts, and BeDazzlers. Even stranger, she’s spending time with a boy who has never seen her tear it up in a pickup game.

To cope with the stress of faking her way through this new reality, Charlie seeks late-night refuge in her backyard, talking out her problems with Braden by the fence that separates them. But their Fence Chats can’t solve Charlie’s biggest problem: she’s falling for Braden. Hard. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

Review:

This is the first book I’ve read by Kasie West and I am officially a fan – the rest of her books have now been moved to the top of my TBR list. Charlie and Brandon’s relationship is perfectly adorable and their flirty yet deep fence chats were my favorite moments of the story.

Family is the core of this novel, through laughter and hardship family is always there and that is certainly the case with Charlie’s family. Charlie’s dynamics with her older brothers really made me smile as someone with an older brother myself, I could definitely relate to their protective teasing nature.

You should never have to change who you are to impress anyone because if they don’t like you for who you are, they are not worth your time or energy. But at the same time it is ok to grow and try new things – you just should change who you are in order to do so. That is the message of this book and one one we all need to learn. 5 out 5 star.

5 Puple Stars

 

3 thoughts on “On The Fence

  1. Great review :). I still have to read this book but I’ve read The Distance Between Us and The Fill-in Boyfriend and I loved both. The relationships in her books are always so cute

    Like

  2. Yes, I love the message as well! Kasie West is seriously in my top 5 favorite authors list. I read The Fill In Boyfriend last month (4/5 stars) and I’ve read The Distance Between Us twice! I also read her Pivot Point series but TDBU remains my favorite. The boys she creates are so heart-eye emoji 😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

