A Thousand Nights

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnson

Synopsis

This is a story about a leader who has killed three hundred girls before he comes to her village seeking another wife. Wrecked with fear and trying to save her older sister, she volunteers to be Lo-Melkhiin’s wife and is taken away to his village. Here she does what no girl has tried to do before, make it past their wedding night alive. Through the tales she weaves, she is able to keep her self alive, but something deeper and darker than anyone understands is also happening and soon she realizes what she can achieve with her stories.

My Review

A beautiful cover and an intriguing synopsis on Netgalley made me want to read this. This book turned out to be a little bit of a let down for me. I struggled with getting through this whole book. I often judge a book on how long it takes me to finish a book and this one took me a while. I just couldn’t get into the story and I didn’t feel invested in the characters. The biggest issue for me was some of the word choice she used, I know she was retelling a story and was trying to invoke the original story, but I often felt lost and confused with some of the word choices. Furthermore, the dialogue I felt was very flat and dimensional, it didn’t really add to the story nor did I feel it moved it along. However I found Johnson’s descriptions of details and locations to be absolutely mesmerizing. They were vivid and very imaginative. Overall this book was too slow for me to enjoy and that is why I’m rating it a 2/5.

Released: 2015, 336 pages.

2 Purple Stars

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

