How To Be Brave

How To Be Brave by Katherine Kottras

Description from Netgalley:

Reeling from her mother’s death, Georgia has a choice: become lost in her own pain, or enjoy life right now, while she still can. She decides to start really living for the first time and makes a list of fifteen ways to be brave – all the things she’s wanted to do but never had the courage to try. As she begins doing the things she’s always been afraid to do – including pursuing her secret crush, she discovers that life doesn’t always go according to plan. Sometimes friendships fall apart and love breaks your heart. But once in a while, the right person shows up just when you need them most – and you learn that you’re stronger and braver than you ever imagined.

My Review:

It took me a couple of chapters for the story to take off and I had to put it down a couple of times because I wasn’t able to get into it, but once I did, I loved it. It is a little slow-paced in the beginning and it was difficult for me to really understand the first chapter (which focuses on Georgia’s clothing choice) but once you get into the book, the first chapter makes much more sense. My only critique was that the opening chapter should have been more engaging in my opinion.

The book is a really poignant and emotional coming of age story. Its emotions and feelings are raw and honest and I felt all of Georgia’s emotions. I loved Georgia’s honesty in her pain, her triumphs and her failures. She is a real character who feels real emotions and that makes her relatable.

I enjoyed this book because Kottras didn’t shy away from real life, she talks about drugs, alcohol abuse, etc. She makes the story real and honest, and that is refreshing. While the story plays on the cliché chase after your dreams line (and other’s like don’t let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game, don’t regret the chances you didn’t take, etc…) I felt Kottras showed rather than told the reader why you should chase after your dreams. A really great novel and a great debut for Kottras. 3.5/5 stars.

Published: 2015, 288 pages.

3 Purples Stars

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

One thought on “How To Be Brave

Leave a Reply

