Why Not Me?

Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

Goodreads Description:

In Why Not Me?, Kaling shares her ongoing journey to find contentment and excitement in her adult life, whether it’s falling in love at work, seeking new friendships in lonely places, attempting to be the first person in history to lose weight without any behavior modification whatsoever, or most important, believing that you have a place in Hollywood when you’re constantly reminded that no one looks like you.

My Review:

I really liked Mindy Kaling’s first book, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? and I hoped this book would live up to her first book. In my opinion, this did not. Kaling had such a wildly successful and good first book, that like any sequel, there is a lot of hype for this book and so I was really expecting a lot more. Furthermore, because I have read her first one, this book didn’t feel like a different book. It felt it was the less funnier continuation of the first book.

This felt very disjointed and all over the place. The book was difficult for me to read because it fell flat from the expectation I had that her jokes would be funny. However they did not translate from the page as well as they did in her first book.

Overall the writing is good, even if it is conversational writing. Her voice really shines through in the book and I think I would enjoy listening to the audiobook of it. In the end, I think because it did not seem as original and witty as her first book, I had difficulty enjoying it as much as other may have.

2.5/5 stars.

Published: 2015

Pages: 240 pages.

 

2 Purple Stars

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

