The Royal We

The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan

“A wave of intense happiness washed over me, and I told myself to carry this moment as a talisman of a time in my life when I was both truly content and lucky enough to realize it.”

Goodreads Description:

American Rebecca Porter was never one for fairy tales. Her twin sister, Lacey, has always been the romantic who fantasized about glamour and royalty, fame and fortune. Yet it’s Bex who seeks adventure at Oxford and finds herself living down the hall from Prince Nicholas, Great Britain’s future king. And when Bex can’t resist falling for Nick, the person behind the prince, it propels her into a world she did not expect to inhabit, under a spotlight she is not prepared to face.

Dating Nick immerses Bex in ritzy society, dazzling ski trips, and dinners at Kensington Palace with him and his charming, troublesome brother, Freddie. But the relationship also comes with unimaginable baggage: hysterical tabloids, Nick’s sparkling and far more suitable ex-girlfriends, and a royal family whose private life is much thornier and more tragic than anyone on the outside knows. The pressures are almost too much to bear, as Bex struggles to reconcile the man she loves with the monarch he’s fated to become.

Which is how she gets into trouble.

Now, on the eve of the wedding of the century, Bex is faced with whether everything she’s sacrificed for love-her career, her home, her family, maybe even herself-will have been for nothing.

Review:

To say I am obsessed with England and the Royal Family is putting it mildly. My family is British and I was raised with the culture and deep admiration for the monarchy. I remember waking up at 5am on my final of freshman year in college, all my friends gathering in my dorm to witness the wedding of Will and Kate. It was magical!

The premise of this book is perfect. I love all royal romances, especially when they are turned into contemporary stories. However, sadly this book fell a little flat for me. I think my expectations may have been a little too high. The book was far too wordy and I struggled to get through parts. The character development seemed fake as did the romance between Nick and Bex. It turned into one big soap opera.  However, I love Bex. She is intelligent, charismatic and genuine and saved this book for me. 3 out of 5 stars.

3 Purples Stars

One thought on “The Royal We

  1. Read this book a few weeks ago and yes it was a nice contemporary (not one of my most read genres at the moment) but it did seem to go on and on with quite a lot of drama. Although the drama did make it less of the traditional fall in love get married story it feel at bit dragged out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

