The Painting and the Piano

The Painting and the Piano by John Lipscomb and Adrianne Lugo

Goodreads Description

The Painting and The Piano, by John Lipscomb and Adrianne Lugo, is an improbable story of survival and love.

Growing up more than a thousand miles apart and worlds away from each other, Johnny and Adrianne seemed to have all that a child could ask for. However, the demons of their respective mothers would tear their young, fragile lives apart.

Filled with hope, inspiration and humor, The Painting and the Piano is an unforgettable story of pain, loss and the undying human quest for happiness.

Told as a tandem narrative, Adrianne and Johnny’s stories are unique, but share parallels that create a taut and emotionally compelling narrative.

My Review:

A poignant story that is very intriguing and riveting. This is not normally a story I would have picked up, but I was approached by the publishers to read this book and I am glad they did! A really great read that is not hard to read but the content is sad and heartbreaking. I found some parts difficult to read because I was so upset with what was happening to Lugo.

The story is told in tandem narrative, and I found this sometimes to be difficult to follow. I would become so engrossed with one of their story, to have the next chapter be about the other person, was difficult to adjust. I also realized that they chose to use italics instead of quotation marks to identify conversation and this was a small change I had to adjust to.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I found it extremely inspiration everything that Lugo and Lipscomb overcame. They did not hold back on their story, on their struggles and were honest about what they had gone through, and I really enjoyed their honesty. 4/5 stars

Published: 2016, 309 pages.

4 Purple Stars

 

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the Publishers through I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

