Me Before You

Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

“I will never, ever regret the things I’ve done. Because most days, all you have are places in your memory that you can go to.”

Goodreads’ Description:

Me Before YouLou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.
What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Review:

This is one of the most hyped books in recent years. It is not my usual genre choice, straight romance, but with the movie currently in theaters and my grandma’s strong recommendation I decided to give it a shot.

Lou is one of those once in a lifetime kind of characters. She is so unique, bubbly, strong, kind and inspiring. I really enjoy brave and intelligent female characters but I absolutely love characters that are so beautifully weird that they make me want to embrace my own weirdness. I related to her feelings of unknowing and lack of contentedness with her dull life and I myself feel that nagging feeling of needing more of life, that Will instills within her.

With that being said. The ending bothered me. I wasn’t in love with the writing style. This book was way too over hyped and didn’t make me shed a single tear. 3 out of 5 Stars

3 Purples Stars

 

One thought on “Me Before You

  1. Ah, I’m so sorry you didn’t like this one. I actually really loved this one and I think it’s because of the ending; that not all stories end in happy endings. It seems that most people who read it AFTER the movie was announced found it overwhelming, but I can see why. Hype creates enormous expectations!

    Jess @ POB!

    Like

Leave a Reply

